Territorial division by cantons

The Swiss Confederation is made up of 26 members with equal rights, known as the cantons or «states». Among them, there are the following half cantons: Basle-City, Basle-Country, Obwalden, Nidwalden, Appenzell Ausserrhoden and Appenzell Innerrhoden.The administrative level below the canton is the district. 18 cantons have an administrative level between canton and commune, totalling 140

View map in the atlas


Tags: State and Politics, Territorial divisions, Administrative units, State, Boundaries
Spatial extent: Switzerland
Spatial unit: Cantons
Time: 2023

Map objects: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Berne, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Grisons, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchâtel, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug, Zurich