Roman Catholic dioceses

There are six dioceses in Switzerland (Basel, Lausanne-Geneva-Fribourg, Sion, Lugano, Chur, St. Gallen) and two territorial abbeys (St. Maurice, Einsiedeln). As opposed to many other countries, Swiss dioceses are not incorporated into an ecclesiastical province but are directly controlled by the Holy See. Cooperation between the dioceses takes place on a national level in the Episcopal Conference

View map in the atlas


Tags: Society and Culture, Religion, Christians, Religion
Spatial extent: Switzerland
Time: 2018

Map objects: Abbatiale St-Maurice d’Agaune (Saint-Maurice), Abbaye de la Fille-Dieu (Romont FR), Abbaye de Saint-Maurice, Abbaye Notre-Dame de la Maigrauge (Fribourg), Abbaye Notre-Dame, Hauterive, Abbaye St-Benôit, Le Bouveret, Abtei St. Otmarsberg, Basilique Notre-Dame (Fribourg), Basilique Notre-Dame (Genève), Basilique Notre-Dame de Valère (Sion), Basilique Notre-Dame, Pré-du-Marché, Benediktinerkollegium (Sarnen), Bistum Annecy, Bistum Basel, Bistum Chur, Bistum Lausanne, Genf und Freiburg, Bistum Lugano, Bistum Sitten, Bistum St. Gallen, Cathédrale Notre-Dame du Glarier (Sion), Cathédrale St-Nicolas (Fribourg), Cattedrale di S. Lorenzo (Lugano), Chartreuse de La Valsainte, Chiesa del Sacro Cuore (Lugano), Chiesa di S. Maria dei Miracoli (Morbio Inferiore), Convento di Faido, Convento di S. Maria dei Frati, Bigorio, Couvent de Fribourg, Couvent de Montcroix, Couvent de Saint-Maurice, Couvent St-Hyacinthe (Fribourg), Couvent Ste-Croix (Fribourg), Couvent Ste-Ursule (Fribourg), Église Notre-Dame de l’Assomption (Neuchâtel), Erzbistum Vaduz, Hospice du Grand-St-Bernard, Ingebohler Schwestern (Locarno), Kapuzinergemeinschaft (Zürich), Kathedrale St. Florin (Vaduz), Kathedrale St. Mariä Himmelfahrt (Chur), Kathedrale St. Ursen und Viktor (Solothurn), Kirche Maria Himmelfahrt und St. Mauritius (Einsiedeln), Kirche St. Ulrich und Afra (Kreuzlingen), Kloster Baldegg, Kloster Berg Sion, Uetliburg SG, Kloster Bethanien, St. Niklausen, Kloster der Ewigen Anbetung, Au SZ, Kloster Eschenbach LU, Kloster Fahr, Kloster Fischingen, Kloster Frauenthal, Kloster Hl. Kreuz (Cham), Kloster Hl. Martin (Disentis/Mustér), Kloster Ilanz/Glion, Kloster Ingenbohl, Kloster Leiden Christi, Jakobsbad, Kloster Magdenau, Kloster Maria-Rickenbach, Niederrickenbach, Kloster Maria Hilf (Altstätten), Kloster Maria Hilf, Gubel, Kloster Maria Himmelfahrt (Engelberg), Kloster Maria Opferung (Zug), Kloster Mariä Rosengarten, Wonnenstein, Kloster Maria vom Guten Rat, Notkersegg, Kloster Maria Zuflucht (Weesen), Kloster Mariastein, Kloster Mariazell-Wurmsbach, Kloster Marienburg, Kloster Marienburg (Wikon), Kloster Mels, Kloster Menzingen, Kloster Namen Jesu (Solothurn), Kloster Olten, Kloster Rapperswil SG, Kloster Rickenbach LU, Kloster Schwyz, Kloster St. Andreas (Sarnen), Kloster St. Anna (Luzern), Kloster St. Gallenberg, Glattburg, Kloster St. Johann, Müstair, Kloster St. Josef (Muotathal), Kloster St. Katharina (Wil SG), Kloster St. Klara (Stans), Kloster St. Lazarus (Seedorf), Kloster St. Martin, Hermetschwil, Kloster St. Niklaus von Flüe, Melchtal, Kloster St. Otmar, Insel Werd, Kloster St. Ottilia, Grimmenstein, Kloster St. Peter am Bach (Schwyz), Kloster St. Peter und Paul (Cazis), Kloster St. Scholastika (Tübach), Kloster St. Ursula, Brig, Kloster Unerer Lieben Frau (Einsiedeln), Kloster Visitation (Solothurn), Kloster Wesemlin, Kloster Wil SG, Klosterkirche, Mariastein, Konvent des Seligen Heinrich Seuse (Luzern), Maison provinciale des Soeurs d’Ingenbohl (Fribourg), Maison St-François (Sion), Monastère de Collombey, Monastère de Develier, Monastère de la Visitation (Fribourg), Monastère de Montorge, Monastère des Soeurs Ursulines (Sion), Monastère du Carmel (Le Pâquier FR), Monastère Notre-Dame de Fatima, Orsonnens, Monastère Notre-Dame de l’Assomption, Estavayer-le-Lac, Monastère Notre-Dame, Géronde, Monastère Ste-Claire (Chardonne), Monastero del Carmelo di S. Giuseppe (Locarno), Monastero del Sacro Cuore (Bellinzona), Monastero di S. Caterina (Locarno), Monastero di S. Hildegardis (Orselina), Monastero di S. Maria (Poschiavo), Monastero di S. Maria Assunta, Claro, Santuario della Madonna del Sasso (Orselina), Stiftskirche St. Gallus und Otmar (St. Gallen), Verenamünster (Bad Zurzach)